asleep on a plane

Initial thought I had when I saw the article tease on Yahoo homepage was, “Hmmm, lemme take a closer look at this.” When I made just the first click, and saw the face of the alleged “victim” and her attorney, my next instinctive reaction (yeah, I know I’m pretty judgmental) was, “ahem….bullshit alert!” So, then I click on the video link, watch, listen, and immediately gag (again, yes, I get that I am judgmental but you gotta trust your instincts, right?).


After I got past the initial gag response, the critical thoughts, but mostly logical questions, immediately began to flood my brain: For starters, was this your first airplane flight honey?;

If you were that serious about waking and making a smooth and timely connection at your destination upon landing, would it not occur to you to set an alarm on your cell phone (ALL cell phone alarms work in airplane safe mode)?;

Are we to believe that every flight attendant simply ignored you when making a final cabin check before deplaning (you will never convince me that you were not gently nudged and/or verbally encouraged to “wake up” at least once)?;

Do you truly believe you were treated unjustly, unfairly, in a maliciously negligent manner, or, most laughably to me, “falsely imprisoned”?

And lastly, do you truly believe, with all that is going on in our world at this very moment that United Airlines, or any judge, or the general public should really give a damn that you don’t possess enough personal responsibility or “adultness” to wake your goofy ass up when your plane has landed? Really?

If the judge whose presented with your case even considers having it heard in his/her court, I will laugh out loud, then probably weep with despair when thinking about what a joke our judicial system has become. After viewing the original yahoo news video, I viewed this analysis video and sort of felt validated in my initial “bullshit” impression. Just for grins, have a look and see what you think:

~ by William Maloney on May 28, 2010.

8 Responses to “asleep on a plane”

  1. That is one dumb effin’ bitch. She was smiling through almost the entire interview. If she did sleep through the plane landing and the chaos of everybody getting their stuff and shuffling down the aisles then she was on some serious narcotics. Nobody has to take responsibility in our country anymore. Everyone’s a victim and entitled to MY hard-earned money. Even those who don’t even live here! Somethin’ got me started. And it was you, Bill!

    Like

    • Megan: cracked me up, I think I struck a nerve, yes? This was the one story that caught my eye yesterday a.m. on the yahoo homepage. I rarely see stories that intrigue me to take a deeper look, but for some reason this one grabbed me yesterday. And, as you can tell it struck a nerve in me as well 🙂 Thank you for always taking the time to read my blog, and for your thoughts and comments. Hope you have a nice weekend 🙂

      Like

  2. All I can say is, I WISH I could sleep that well, in my own bed!!! And where did she dig that attorney up from, the 70’s? He’s doing a great impersonation of the scarecrow, with that hair of his.

    As for Sleeping Beauty, (NOT) I didn’t need the second video to know that she was lying. I’m a MOM, I can spot em a mile away.

    The cops showed up because they called them when they knew she was still on the plane, hiding! In this day and age, flight attendants would use a cattle prod to wake you up and get you off their plane.

    Keep us posted on this nut bag, I want to see her when she’s really scared and pissed, which will be in handcuffs, right after she confesses to her dumba$$ scheme.

    Thanks Bill…..this was awesome. Great way to start my Friday.

    Like

    • Monica: thank you for reading my blog. You know, I am just trying to live up to the standard that you set with yours 🙂 You’re not posting as much these days, miss it. And, you know, I’ll have to admit that it never occurred to me that this passenger could have been “hiding.” That is a very good theory, and makes a lot more “sense” (if any of this does) than trying to imagine how her story could even be remotely plausible. I really enjoyed your comments, and again thanks for taking the time to read and respond. Hope you have a nice weekend!

      Like

  3. After flying from San Antonio on Sunday (23rd) and finally arriving in Mosul, Iraq about an hour ago (Friday), I laughed so loud after reading” asleep on a plane” I woke up my night-shift CHU mate. Imagine the law suits she could rack up on that journey! I was on 6 planes in 7 cities, 4 countries and 3 continents – just on the return leg. I would have paid someone just to knock me out… Hey, could I file a law suit for not being able to sleep on a plane because a baby was crying almost the entire trip over the Atlantic? Just saying…
    I agree with you 100% – most especially “do you truly believe, with all that is going on in our world at this very moment that United Airlines, or any judge, or the general public should really give a damn that you don’t possess enough personal responsibility or “adultness” to wake your goofy ass up when your plane has landed? Really?” And, before she claims to have been “falsely imprisoned”, she should be forced by a judge to fly on a C-17 at about 115 degrees in full battle rattle over a combat zone (I’ll grace her the bird hitting our prop incident as irrelevant in her case, but she would not have slept through it!).
    Angels on your shoulders bro…
    T2

    Like

    • Tom: had no idea you would be reading this blog. Thanks for stopping by, and for your thoughts and comments. Keep checking back in. I get inspired infrequently to write, but when I do I always very deeply appreciate folks taking the time to read, and especially share thoughts. How long are you in Mosul this time? As always, keep your head down, and come home safe.

      Like

  4. Bill, you hit a nerve!!! And a funny one at that!!!!

    Like

    • Carole Ann: A nerve indeed! That’s how I felt first thing yesterday a.m. when I actually took the time to check out the story. Maybe I should have just bypassed yahoo and taken my boxer for his walk earlier and enjoyed the perfect north texas morning rather than being frustrated, then ranting. But, at least I’m writing, huh????? I do very much appreciate you always reading this nonsensical endeavor of mine, and for your valuable thoughts. Hope you have a great weekend!

      Like

Leave a Reply

 
